one last conversation

I will say it now

so you will remember

that when I arrive at this place,
the edge of memory
this long corridor of forgetting
before the curtains fall
let me linger here a while.

Do not push me
or rush me to the final exit.

Let me stand here and smell
the late evening breeze

Allow me to kneel down
one last time to feel the brook
ripple thru my outstretched fingers.

Let me hear the mournful song
of the nightengale.
Let me sit here in the shadows
for just a short while longer.



Morning will come soon enough.
But tonight the sky is clear
and filled with stars
and the moon and I
desire one last conversation.

may 13, 2014 c.m. brooks

~ by christinambrooks on May 12, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
