feeling for the edge

It has been three years since this hole opened up
and I have yet to find the edge of it.

People have stopped asking me about you or how I feel.
Do I miss you, have I moved on?
And that is a good thing because on many days I don’t know.

Your brother, Roger, asked me a year ago
to write something for the cottage memorial book.
A few words about who you were.

All I can do is stare down into this hole
feel for the edge and wonder if I am ready
to explore its depth.

And this morning again my heart says
I am still not ready.

By c.m.brooks , July 3, 2016

~ by christinambrooks on July 3, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
