Silence that is more than we can bear

The fake or the faint they are nothing new to me.
They have circumambulate this silent path
you’ve marked out on the ground for decades.

So easy to tell what you have been thinking.
Impressed like an old wound on paper
your heart slowly emptied by time.

Words vanish, rebound off unseen glass
even in the quiet rain I cannot see you.
Mist swirling, broken only by the rough treeline.

You shrug your shoulders, moving away
your burden already more than you can bear.
Nothing I will say can touch you.

“Be there for me, just this once”, she asks.
“See me for who I am. Take care of me.
Please, just want me.”

Painful words falling on a deaf heart.
Because in the end, it is always the silence
that is more than we can bear.

2017 By c.m. brooks

~ by christinambrooks on April 26, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
